Shield of Loyola

The Shield of Loyola, the University’s most prestigious honor, is awarded annually to a distinguished alumnus or alumna who has had remarkable success in his or her profession, whose life reflects the values of St. Ignatius Loyola, and who has demonstrated unparalleled loyalty to Saint Joseph’s University. It is presented at the annual Alumni Gala.

The recipient of the 2014 Shield of Loyola, Joseph J. Oakes III '64 is president of Acorn Financial Services, a leading life insurance and financial services firm based in N.J. His sons, Joseph IV and William, are also Hawks from the Class of '94 and '98 respectively. A former Trustee of Saint Joseph's University, Joe also serves on the Haub School Board of Visitors. He has also co-chaired the Committee for the President's Cup Invitational, a golf outing that helps raise scholarship funds for the University's presidential scholars. An avid Saint Joseph's Hawks basketball fan, Joe is a season ticket holder who can often be seen cheering on the team.

Proceeds from the Alumni Gala support our students through the Shield of Loyola Scholarship Fund. For more information about sponsorship opportunities, please call Georgette Hamaty at 610-660-3286 or email

Register today!
2014 Alumni Gala
Saturday, November 15
Hyatt at the Bellevue, Philadelphia

Shield of Loyola Recipients

2014 Joseph J. Oakes III '64
2013 Robert T. Healey, Sr. '51
2012 Michael J. Hagan ’85
2011 Brian Duperreault ’69 
2010 The Honorable Michael A. O'Pake ’61, Esq. +
2009 James J. Maguire ’58
2008 Andrew von Eschenbach, M.D ’63 
2007 Mary Lou Finlayson Quinlan ’75
2006 John R. Post ’60
2005 Francis J. Erbrick ’61
2004 J. Eustace Wolfington ’56
2003 Consul William D. Warren K.C.H.S ’50
2002 Hon. Joseph M. Nardi Jr. ’53 +
2001 Brother Rick Curry, S.J. ’68
2000 Edward F. McCauley ’61
1999 Sr. Mary K. Scullion, RSM ’76
1998 Michael J. Morris ’56
1997 John P. Cardinal Foley ’57 +
1996 James C. McGroddy, Ph.D. ’58
1995 Henry A. Quinn ’56 +
1994 Bernard J. Morgan ’57
1993 Hon. William T. Cahill ’33 +
1992 James E. Dougherty, Ph.D. ’50 +
1991 William A. Conway ’43B +
1990 William J. Byron, S.J. ’51
1989 Joseph F. McKinney ’52 +
1988 Francis E. Rosato, M.D. ’56 +
1987 Hon. Lawrence W. Pierce ’48
1986 John F. Whitaker ’47
1985 John F. Lehman, Ph.D. ’64
1984 John T. Ramsay ’49 +
1983 Paul E. Kelly ’34 +
1982 Joseph P. Dougherty ’48 +
1981 Robert M. Gillin '49 +

+ deceased

  "Go forth and set the world on fire."
— St. Ignatius Loyola

Submit a nomination.


Photo Galleries

2013 Alumni Gala
2012 Alumni Gala 2011 Alumni Gala
2010 Alumni Gala 2009 Alumni Gala
2008 Alumni Gala
2007 Alumni Gala

Affinity Chapter Awards

Medical Chapter Awards 
Law Chapter Awards

Real Estate and Construction Chapter Awards

Alumni Service Awards

Rev. Joseph S. Hogan, S.J. Award
The Ignatius Award

For more information about these awards or to nominate an individual, contact the Office of Development and Alumni Relations at 888-SJU-ALUM or
Saint Joseph's University    •    5600 City Avenue, Philadelphia, Pa. 19131    •    (610) 660-2300    •    •   Privacy Policy