Lindback Award Nomination

    Lindback Award Nomination

    The Lindback Award will be given at Commencement in May 2014.  We earnestly seek your help in giving this prestigious award to one of our deserving faculty members.


    In 1997, the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching published a report, “Scholarship Assessed:  Evaluation of the Professoriate,” which asserted that a common set of standards ought to be used to consider achievement in teaching, research, and service.  The report posits a set of six standards to be used uniformly in measuring faculty work, no matter what area of concern.  The current Lindback Committee, in seeking nominations regarding faculty who should be considered for this year’s Lindback Award, would like to suggest that the report’s six standards, listed below, might well constitute a fair norm for deliberations about excellence in teaching:

    1. clear goals
    2. adequate preparation
    3. appropriate methods
    4. significant results
    5. effective presentation
    6. reflective critique

    Student evaluations of teaching are conducted regularly.  Teaching performance is measured carefully at the time of tenure and promotion.  Outstanding teachers should be respected by students, graduates, and colleagues. The Lindback Award is a widely recognized and deeply valued honor for excellence in teaching, an honor which can be conferred but once upon any teacher.  On the basis of what you know about the teaching of our faculty, in relationship to the standards listed above, we would ask you to nominate one of the tenure-track faculty (excepting previous recipients shown below) for the 2013-2014 Lindback Award.  Also ineligible are Professor Snetselaar, Hogan, Smith and George who recently received the Tengelmann Award for distinguished teaching and research.

    This week similar letters are being sent to academic administrators, faculty, graduating seniors, and juniors.  All nominations will be considered by the Lindback Committee, which consists of the senior academic officer and the four faculty who most recently received the award:  Professors McCall, Norberg, Angiolillo and Anastasio.  A viable nomination will include a substantive rationale for the nominee.

    Your Information

    First Name:
    Last Name:
    Preferred Email:

    Nominee Information

    I nominate:
    Please include a rationale for your nomination:

    Saint Joseph's University    •    5600 City Avenue, Philadelphia, Pa. 19131    •    (610) 660-2300    •    •   Privacy Policy