Shield of Loyola

The Shield of Loyola, the University’s most prestigious honor, is awarded annually to a distinguished alumnus or alumna who has had remarkable success in his or her profession, whose life reflects the values of St. Ignatius Loyola, and who has demonstrated unparalleled loyalty to Saint Joseph’s University. It is presented at the annual Alumni Gala.

The recipient of the 2016 Shield of Loyola, James. J. Maguire Jr. '84 is executive chairman of Philadelphia Insurance Companies (PHLY) and an insurance industry innovator for nearly 30 years scholars. Maguire began his career as a professional liability broker and underwriter for various insurance companies in New York, Chicago and Philadelphia. In 1996, he joined with his father, PHLY founder James J. Maguire Sr. ’58, as PHLY’s vice president of underwriting. After implementing innovative operational and underwriting initiatives, Maguire earned a promotion to executive vice president and chief operating officer in 1999. Three years later, his ascendance to president and CEO coincided with PHLY’s revenue nearly quadrupling from $460 million to more than $2 billion. Today, the Bala Cynwyd, Pa.-based PHLY remains one of the country’s top property and casualty insurers with ratings of “A++” from A.M. Best rating and “A+” from Standard and Poor’s. For 15 consecutive years, PHLY has been named one of Ward’s “Top 50 Insurance Companies.”

Proceeds from the Alumni Gala support our students through the Shield of Loyola Scholarship Fund.

Shield of Loyola Recipients

James J. Maguire Jr. ’84
2015 Anthony A. Nichols Sr. ’67
2014 Joseph J. Oakes III ’64
2013 Robert T. Healey Sr. ’51
2012 Michael J. Hagan ’85
2011 Brian Duperreault ’69 
2010 The Honorable Michael A. O'Pake ’61, Esq. +
2009 James J. Maguire ’58
2008 Andrew von Eschenbach, M.D ’63 
2007 Mary Lou Finlayson Quinlan ’75
2006 John R. Post ’60
2005 Francis J. Erbrick ’61
2004 J. Eustace Wolfington ’56
2003 Consul William D. Warren K.C.H.S ’50 +
2002 Hon. Joseph M. Nardi Jr. ’53 +
2001 Brother Rick Curry, S.J. ’68 +
2000 Edward F. McCauley ’61
1999 Sr. Mary K. Scullion, RSM ’76
1998 Michael J. Morris ’56
1997 John P. Cardinal Foley ’57 +
1996 James C. McGroddy, Ph.D. ’58
1995 Henry A. Quinn ’56 +
1994 Bernard J. Morgan ’57
1993 Hon. William T. Cahill ’33 +
1992 James E. Dougherty, Ph.D. ’50 +
1991 William A. Conway ’43B +
1990 William J. Byron, S.J. ’51
1989 Joseph F. McKinney ’52 +
1988 Francis E. Rosato, M.D. ’56 +
1987 Hon. Lawrence W. Pierce ’48
1986 John F. Whitaker ’47
1985 John F. Lehman, Ph.D. ’64
1984 John T. Ramsay ’49 +
1983 Paul E. Kelly ’34 +
1982 Joseph P. Dougherty ’48 +
1981 Robert M. Gillin '49 +

+ deceased

  "Go forth and set the world on fire."
— St. Ignatius Loyola

Submit a nomination.


Photo Galleries


 2015 Alumni Gala


2014 Alumni Gala
 2013 Alumni Gala
2012 Alumni Gala 2011 Alumni Gala
2010 Alumni Gala 2009 Alumni Gala
2008 Alumni Gala
2007 Alumni Gala

Alumni Awards

Medical Chapter Awards 
Law Chapter Awards

Real Estate and Construction Chapter Awards
Rev. Joseph S. Hogan, S.J. Award
The Ignatius Award

For more information about these awards or to nominate an individual, contact University Advancement at